top of page

Cikada Pianotrio @ Ny Musikk, Bergen // 02 apr 2016

Do not forget the red rooster when the day dawns

- a night walk

Cikada Pianotrio

Kenneth Karlsson — piano

Karin Hellqvist — fiolin

Torun Stavseng — cello


Francesco Filidei: Corde Vuote (2010)

Eivind Buene: Landscape with ruins (2006)

Klaus Lang: The robot in red (2014) / dangerous foxes are illusions (2006)

Salvatore Sciarrino: Sei Capricci – Con brio (1976)

Luciano Berio: Cinque variazione notturne (1952/1966) / Maurice Ravel: Oiseaux Tristes (1904–1905)

Gérard Pesson: Ne pas oublier coq rouge dans jour craquelé (moments Proust) (2010)

We’re invited for a walk through the night, where experiences and dreams are unfolding before our eyes. We hear Aeolian harps in the night, going through landscape with ruins and meetings fateful, forbidden love. At dawn crows the red rooster, with Gérard Pessons work Ne pas oublier coq rouge dance jour craquelé (moments Proust). The music ranges from the slow, weak and dreamlike to the lively and whim rich. In the center we’ll find the close dialogue between the three musicians who leads us through a stream of nocturnal images.

Francesco Filideis piece is given the descriptive title Corde Vuote that in Italian means open strings. Longer parts of the piece is played on open strings, and the listener is therefore invited to become aware of the many nuances and different shades that lies in string instruments, colored by the piano’s gently rolling crescendo / diminuendo.

Ne pas oublier coq rouge dans jour craquelé (moments Proust) - do not forget the red rooster when the day dawns - consists of a variety of musical moments inspired by Marcel Proust's sketchbooks. The work is a tribute to Vinteuil, a fictional composer appearing in In Search of Lost Time, in addition to being a meditation of other Proust mysteries. The phrase that constitutes the work's title is a kind of memento Proust scribbled on the back page 45 of Volume no. 4 (1914 to 1917), and is linked to both a painting by Bruegel and the glowing septet constituting Vinteuils last opus.

bottom of page