top of page


Sunday 18 November


Bates Mill, Huddersfield

Following last years success, Cikada has again been invited to the prominent Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, the UK’s largest festival of new and experimental music. This year we will bring with us two world premiere pieces, by Sam Hayden and hcmf// Composer in Residence, Maja S. K. Ratkje.

Gérard Pesson: Cassation (2003) Sam Hayden: surface / tension (2012) World premiere Maja S.K. Ratkje: And sing while thou on pressed flowers dost sleep (2012) World premiere

Soloist: Christopher Redgate

hcmf// writes on their site:

Cikada Ensemble returns to hcmf// to present the world premiere of a new work by hcmf// Composer in Residence Maja S K Ratkje – a notated piece using Ratkje’s distinctive, extreme vocal improvisations as a source. Works by Gérard Pesson and British composer Sam Hayden, whose piece was commissioned by oboist Chris Redgate as part of a series of new works written to explore the possibilities of an instrument he has specially adapted to the demands of contemporary repertoire, complete the programme.

Produced by hcmf// supported by British Council; also supported by Music Information Centre Norway and the Norwegian Embassy

bottom of page